PDA

View Full Version : Question about a domain


Lara
11-21-2006, 04:10 AM
Can anyone tell me if hotmil.com is a valid domain?

I've received a personal email which didn't go via my spam filter so I figured the email was fine, but when I checked the address it said hotmil.com and I've not heard of that. The information in the email is something that could have been found in genealogy sites and the properties and message source are a little strange. Just wondering if anyone else has heard of this hotmil?

Bobbi
11-21-2006, 04:22 AM
It is a registered domain, only it does not appear to be in use; it's "parked" (meaning, its domain name is reserved and very likely for possble future use). I hadn't heard of the domain until you asked about it. Chances are, the address transmitting to you was "spoofed."

One would have to trace the full pathway header of the originating message received in order to see its entire pathway... or to "parse" it.

Lara
11-25-2006, 02:49 AM
G'day Bobbi,
How are you doing? I miss seeing you around.
Thanks so much for the advice. I figured there was something weird about it and when I googled it I found only a few references with the hot mil word in it, but wasn't sure about it 'cause it passed my ISP spam filter and their and my virus programmes. Things happen so fast these days, I just wasn't sure if this was some brand new big thing like hot mail or ya hoo or something.

take care there,
Lara

mcfox
11-25-2006, 12:16 PM
It's what's called a typo-domain - it makes money from people mistyping hotmail.com into their browser. When they land on the hotmil site, the idea is they click on an ad.