View Full Version : Identity Theft on Brain Talk?
hoops2u
02-25-2009, 04:23 PM
Hello My Friends,
Well, most of you, that is. For some reason, an unknown person has tried at least 5 times, unsuccessfully, to log onto this web site using my name. I cannot help but wonder to what advantage that would be to any particular individual?
Fortunately we have a very good security system due to our wonderful guardians at "Brain Talk" which (who) prevented this perverted and sad little perswon from carrying through with their diabolical plot. THANK YOU VERY MUCH TO THE DESIGNERS OF THIS SITE AND TO THE GUARDIANS HEREWITH. YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!
Any ideas? I mean, it is relatively easy to adopt a user name of your own and your own password. Why on earth would you want mine? I have used this user name for more years than I care to mention, even before the word "user" was popular. ahhh hahaha. Back during "breaker-breaker"! ahhh hahaha.
Soooooo, to whomever you are, gitcherownname. Or, here's an idea, if you just happen to be akin to MY name, use another number and letter at the end. It doesn't get any easier than that! Geez!
I just do not understand what advantage ANYONE would get from usinng my moniker?
Whoeverer you are, I forgive you and I am praying for you right now. I pray you are well. I pray for your good health, joy, peace and financial abundance in a way that is just right for you. God Bless you, Please. Thank you God for answered prayers, even if you don't believe. I do and all is in Divine Order. God will take care of you. Amen & Amen
To all my friends, I pray for you always, for your words of kind concern always touch me deeply. Again & Again I thank you.
Most sincerely,
hoops
Maggie
02-25-2009, 10:11 PM
That's really odd. How did you know they were trying to do this? Like you, I can't imagine what they think they would gain by taking on your name.
Have a happy day
Maggie
i dont post alot but i am wondering the same , the only thought i have is this person is looking to rip something or someone off from there meds??? though how i do not know ??????? Dave ,,,, AKA,,,,,,911
hoops2u
02-26-2009, 07:10 PM
I think that is one really scarey thought. I mean about stealing from someone.
And all along I thought I was protected by poverty. One thin I learned a long time ago is to not keep my medication here at my home.
Years ago, when my son was a teener, his gf at the time was a real work, ya know, and she stole medicine from my poor old dad. Ever since, none of us keep any meds at our house. It's best that way.
But, beyond that, Geez.
And as for Maggie, I found out through the moderators, of course. The person did not know my password and after 5 tries, I was notified. There you have it. This idiot was trying to log in while I was already logged in as well. Talk about dumb.....
I Bless them and I forgive them. I pray that they find Peace in their Heart.
Rozia
02-27-2009, 01:29 PM
HAVE YOU GOOGLED YOUR NAME AND CHECKED TO SEE IF THERE IS ANOTHER HOOPS2U http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=hoops2u&btnG=Google+Search&aq=f&oq=
could be
Diandra
02-27-2009, 02:11 PM
Hi Hoops,
Do you think it is possible that someone thought they had registered with that name and just kept trying it with different passwords? I know that I sign up to different forums, etc and I try to use the same name but sometimes cannot so I use a derivation of the name BUT, I forget to write it down or lose the paper it is written on so I keep trying thinking I will hit the correct userid or password. Perhaps it is an innocent mistake?
Hope so.
Diandra
mrsdoubtfyre
02-27-2009, 02:51 PM
I think it might be a random event. I wouldn't worry about it unless it continues.
I know of a forum last spring that uses vBulletin like this that had a rash
of password attempts for several members, and they posted publicly about it.
It could be a "test" the spammers use to see how easy it is to get in.
Several days later that board was hacked, and the admin features broached.
I reported this to the admins here, so they know about it, so they can watch for it here.
I think spammers are looking for ways in all the time. I have caught some very subtle clever spam posts lately and reported them, they had "blind links" in them that were hijack type links. Don't ever click on a blind link! EVER.
I wouldn't take it personally...they probably just picked the first board that showed activity and picked the first person with alot of responses. The Chronic pain board here always shows alot of viewers if you check the main menu where stats are shown.
Right now this minute there are 11 viewing Chronic Pain. It is the highest # in the menu starting from the top. So it could have been
selected for this reason. (I didn't go further below )
Diandra
02-27-2009, 02:58 PM
...reported them, they had "blind links" in them that were hijack type links. Don't ever click on a blind link! EVER.
What is a blind link?
Thanks, Diandra
mrsdoubtfyre
02-27-2009, 06:36 PM
This is a REAL link:
http://www.whale.to/vaccines/tetanus6.html
This is a blind link.... usually preceded by friendly comments, or words that might be familiar to you to instill trust: It will appear BLUE like a
real link, and not black like the one I just did.
click here or
more information here
I don't use this function so the click here is not active( not blue in color). But some people do.
When you click you MUST trust the poster. If you don't know the poster, and obviously they have 1 or 2 or 3 posts, DON'T CLICK on it.
You can right click once on it and sometimes it will reveal what it is if you select "properties"...but even then it is best to ignore.
When you go to a blind link, you may be hijacked or worse. Your home page may be changed, you may get endless P O R N popups, or you may be invaded with trojans/worms etc.
I never click on blind links...even if I know the poster. It could be an imposter. Who knows? The internet can be a dangerous place.
Starshine
02-28-2009, 01:19 AM
this is the link to an old documentary of last year on WEB WARRIORS (in the related video section, mid-page) that you might be interested in if you have any worries about what can happen on the internet. cbc stands for canadian broadcasting corporation, a governmental tv in canada. one doesn't have to be in canada to view it, as it is available for free to everyone on the internet.
http://www.cbc.ca/documentaries/doczone/2008/webwarriors/tips.html
Diandra
02-28-2009, 04:35 PM
Mrs D, thank you as I had no idea what a blind link was or that it was risky to click on it.
Starshine.....thank you for the link to the documentary. I'm going to watch it now.
Diandra
P.S. Starshine...unfortunately, the cbc full length documentaries cannot be viewed
outside of Canada. They let you view the trailers but there is blurb at the bottom saying
no viewing outside Canada and when you try to view, it says it is currently not available.
Too bad though...it looks like a good one...I am sure there are plenty of Canadiens on this
forum who can see it.
DiMarie
03-01-2009, 03:34 AM
Hi hoops,
I was not sure, but I remember reading a Jo_ _,that went by hoops2u, not this forum, another.
Not sure if that was you though.
di
hoops2u
03-12-2009, 03:05 PM
Again, Hats off to Mrs. D!!! You are a wealth of information I am ever so grateful, Thank you again and again.
Humbly,
hoops
I think it might be a random event. I wouldn't worry about it unless it continues.
I know of a forum last spring that uses vBulletin like this that had a rash
of password attempts for several members, and they posted publicly about it.
It could be a "test" the spammers use to see how easy it is to get in.
Several days later that board was hacked, and the admin features broached.
I reported this to the admins here, so they know about it, so they can watch for it here.
I think spammers are looking for ways in all the time. I have caught some very subtle clever spam posts lately and reported them, they had "blind links" in them that were hijack type links. Don't ever click on a blind link! EVER.
I wouldn't take it personally...they probably just picked the first board that showed activity and picked the first person with alot of responses. The Chronic pain board here always shows alot of viewers if you check the main menu where stats are shown.
Right now this minute there are 11 viewing Chronic Pain. It is the highest # in the menu starting from the top. So it could have been
selected for this reason. (I didn't go further below )
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.